Photo: Sean Pavone/Shutterstock

8 Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Named UNESCO World Heritage Sites

News Art + Architecture
by Eben Diskin Jul 9, 2019

One of the giants of American architecture is receiving the most prestigious posthumous honor. Frank Lloyd Wright, who died in 1959, has just had a collection of eight of his major works added to UNESCO’s World Heritage list, alongside France’s Mont-Saint-Michel, Egypt’s Pyramids of Giza, and Greece’s Acropolis.

The Frank Lloyd Wright works now on the World Heritage list include:

These eight works that span Wright’s career are the first pieces of modern architecture in the United States to make the list, making the achievement even more impressive.

Franck Lloyd Wright buildings

From top left, clockwise: Fallingwater (Sean Pavone/Shutterstock), Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (travelview/Shutterstock), Taliesin West (EQRoy/Shutterstock), and Unity Temple (Frank Lloyd Wright’s Unity Temple Restoration Foundation/Facebook)

Franck Lloyd Wright buildings

From top left, clockwise: Frederick C. Robie House (Frank Lloyd Wright Trust/Facebook), Taliesin (Juli Hansen/Shutterstock), Hollyhock House (Wangkun Jia/Shutterstock), and Jacobs House (USONIA1)

There are only 1,092 UNESCO World Heritage sites in the entire world, with 23 located in the United States.

Discover Matador