Photo: Olena Yakobchuk/Shutterstock

US Travelers Will Soon Have to Pay a Fee to Get Into Europe

Europe Travel News
by Matador Creators Jul 19, 2023

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is a new security measure that will be required for visa-free travelers to the Schengen Area starting in 2024. It’s been a long time coming. Originally announced years ago, the rollout has been delayed time and time again, but no longer. United States citizens are among the many nationalities that will need to obtain an ETIAS before traveling to Europe.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS is a quick and easy online application that will allow visa-free travelers to the Schengen Area to prove their identity and travel eligibility. It is similar to the US ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization), which is required for visa-free travel to the United States.

How much does ETIAS cost for US citizens?

The ETIAS application fee for US citizens is €7 (which is about $7.60 at the current conversion rate). This fee is non-refundable, even if your application is denied.

How to apply for ETIAS

To apply for ETIAS, you will need to create an account on the ETIAS website and provide the following information:

  • Your passport information
  • Your personal information, such as your name, address, and date of birth
  • Your travel plans, such as the countries you plan to visit and the dates of your trip
  • Your payment information
  • The ETIAS application process is expected to be quick and easy, taking only a few minutes to complete. Once you have submitted your application, you will receive an email notification with the status of your application.

Other ETIAS requirements for US citizens

In addition to the ETIAS application fee, US citizens will also need to meet the following requirements to be eligible for ETIAS:

  • You must have a valid passport that is valid for at least 3 months after your planned departure from the Schengen Area.
  • You must not have a criminal record.
  • You must not be a threat to the security of the Schengen Area.
  • If you meet all of the requirements, you will be granted an ETIAS authorization that is valid for 3 years. This means that you can travel to the Schengen Area multiple times during the validity period of your ETIAS authorization, as long as each stay does not exceed 90 days.

Discover Matador

Save Bookmark

We use cookies for analytics tracking and advertising from our partners.

For more information read our privacy policy.