Photo: EQRoy/Shutterstock

American Airlines Will Cut Routes to 15 Cities Starting in October

News Airports + Flying
by Eben Diskin Aug 21, 2020

The travel industry continues to suffer because of the COVID-19 pandemic, with fewer flight routes available as demand wavers. American Airlines just announced that it will temporarily suspend routes to 15 small cities across the United States starting in October. The planned route cutback will take place between October 7 and November 3, though the airline isn’t making any promises that the routes will return after that.

The cities that will not be serviced by American Airlines this fall include:

  • Del Rio, Texas
  • Dubuque, Iowa
  • Florence, SC
  • Greenville, NC
  • Huntington, WV
  • Joplin, MO
  • Kalamazoo, MI
  • Lake Charles, LA
  • New Haven, CT
  • New Windsor, NY
  • Roswell, NM
  • Sioux City, Iowa
  • Springfield, IL
  • Stillwater, OK
  • Williamsport, PA

The CARES Act federal relief package requires all airports to be served by at least one air carrier, but that requirement expires this September, meaning some regions could be severely underserved or totally cut off from air travel very soon.

Discover Matador

Save Bookmark

We use cookies for analytics tracking and advertising from our partners.

For more information read our privacy policy.