Just like the US, Canada, and, more recently, the European countries of the Schengen Zone, New Zealand is introducing an Electronic Travel Authority, a new entry requirement for foreign nationals.

The citizens of the 60 countries belonging to the New Zealand visa-waiver scheme will be required to apply to obtain this authorization before traveling to the country. The new measure is meant to improve security and address smuggling and biosecurity concerns.

Travelers will now have to fill out an ETA form online by providing personal information such as their name, birthdate, passport details, etc., and pay a fee between six and eight American dollars. The ETA is valid for two years. Future visitors will also need to pay the country’s new International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy of about $24, which will go toward maintaining the infrastructure that supports visitors to New Zealand and helping conserve the natural environment.

Travelers from the 60 countries concerned will need to obtain the ETA before traveling to New Zealand starting October 1, 2019.

H/T: Lonely Planet