Photo: S.Borisov/Shutterstock

The UK Has Lifted Its Mandatory Quarantine for Travelers From Dozens of Countries

United Kingdom News
by Eben Diskin Jul 13, 2020

Until now, travelers entering the United Kingdom from pretty much everywhere in the world were required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon entering the country, but since July 10, it has all changed.

The UK is now allowing residents of more than 70 countries and territories to enter the country without having to quarantine. Before you ask — no, the US is not on the list, meaning US citizens will still be required to quarantine for two weeks if they want to visit the UK.

Since July 10, any traveler coming from one of the following approved countries and territories will not be required to self-isolate for 14 days:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire, St. Eustatius, and Saba
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Channel Islands
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • the Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands
  • Poland
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Spain
  • St. Barthélemy
  • St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Pierre and Miquelon
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

Serbia, which now welcomes US travelers, was removed from the list on July 11. On Friday, Croatia announced it would allow US travelers within its borders, but the nation has remained on the list of the UK-approved countries.

Note that — unlike England, Wales, and Northern Ireland — Scotland is requiring that travelers from Spain quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

If you’re traveling from countries not on the approved list, you will have to provide UK border control with your contact details, including phone number and address for your UK accommodation where you will be in quarantine for 14 days. Failure to self-isolate could result in a fine of up to $1,270.

Discover Matador