Photo: Hans Pennink/Shutterstock

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut Now Require Visitors From 31 States to Quarantine

by Eben Diskin Jul 22, 2020

Although US travelers are eyeing Europe’s border reopenings, they should also be turning their attention inward as certain states begin restricting travel. New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut just added more states to their travel advisory from June. While the initial list included fewer than 10 states, the new list has been revised to include 31 of them. Any travelers coming from those states to New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut will be required to quarantine for 14 days. Failure to do so in New York could result in a $2,000 fine.

The announcement was made by Governor Andrew Cuomo. “As infection rates increase in 41 other states, our numbers continue to steadily decline, thanks to the hard work of New Yorkers and our incremental, data-driven opening. Yesterday, we had our lowest death toll since the pandemic began — and with no fatalities in New York City. While today’s numbers are encouraging, we must remain vigilant,” he said.

The updated travel advisory for New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut includes:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

To hold people accountable for the quarantine, New York has deployed “enforcement teams” at airports across the state, and is encouraging people to fill out traveler health forms. Cuomo did, however, acknowledge that enforcing the quarantine would be a difficult task.

A version of this article was previously published on June 24, 2020, and was updated on July 22, 2020, with more information.

Discover Matador