Photo: Resul Muslu/Shutterstock

After a 15-Month Travel Ban, Europe Is Finally Reopening to Americans

by Eben Diskin Olivia Harden Jun 21, 2021

It’s official! On June 18, 2021, the Council of the European Union, which represents all 27 member countries, announced an update on the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted, and the US is on it.

Previously it was thought that the EU would only be open to vaccinated travelers; however, Americans can currently visit these European countries regardless of their vaccination status.

Although the council recommended that the countries come up with a simplified plan that’s the same across the board, US travelers should expect otherwise since each EU country has the final say in the way it handles tourist arrivals. That includes COVID-19 testing procedures, quarantine requirements, and maybe more — your dream country still might not want you inside.

Several European countries have already announced their reopening, including Greece, Spain, and Iceland.

The full list of countries currently on the EU approval list include:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United States of America
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
  • Hong Kong
  • Macao

A version of this article was previously published on May 19, 2021, and was updated on June 21, 2021, with more information.

Discover Matador