Everywhere Americans Can Travel Without a COVID-19 Test Right Now

by Alex Bresler Mar 25, 2022

This far into the pandemic, in a world that’s increasingly open but still grappling with the proper safety precautions, keeping up with travel mandates can be tough. For a long time, proof of a negative COVID-19 test was the golden ticket to international travel, with a long list of specifications and supplementary requirements depending on the destination. As vaccine rates rose, some countries started relaxing their entry policies for immunized travelers. Now, we’re seeing a trend that even a few months ago might have seemed unbelievable: travel without COVID-19 testing regardless of vaccination status.

One caveat for American travelers is that the United States currently requires proof of a negative COVID-19 test to re-enter the country. Another caveat could, and perhaps should, be self-imposed: Getting tested before a trip regardless of your destination’s travel requirements is still a good decision for everyone’s safety. And with testing readily available — including 20,000 free COVID-19 test sites across the country and free at-home tests available for every household in the nation under the Biden administration — there’s no reason you shouldn’t make extra sure you can’t transmit the virus before embarking on a trip.

As always, COVID-19 travel mandates are a moving target, so you should always triple-check your destination’s entry and exit requirements. But for now, these are the places you can travel to without a COVID-19 test, however that sways your thoughts on visiting.

Countries fully vaccinated travelers can visit without a COVID-19 test

Note: The majority of these countries define fully vaccinated travelers as having two doses of an mRNA vaccine such as Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna or one dose of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine. Some countries are requiring proof of booster shots, so be sure to check your destination’s requirements.

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Bulgaria
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Italy
  • Kenya
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lichtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Saint Martin
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan

Countries travelers can visit without a COVID-19 test regardless of vaccination

  • Aruba
  • Bahrain
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Gabon
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Jordan
  • Maldives
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Norway
  • Romania
  • United Kingdom

Discover Matador

Save Bookmark

We use cookies for analytics tracking and advertising from our partners.

For more information read our privacy policy.