Photo: FredP/Shutterstock

Malta Opens to US Travelers From 38 States

Malta News
by Eben Diskin Morgane Croissant Jun 17, 2021

As of June 17, 2021, US travelers from 38 specific states are allowed to travel to Malta.

Malta, like several other nations around the world, uses a color-coded system that allows travelers from certain countries to visit the island nation under specific requirements depending if they are classified red, amber, or green.

There are currently no countries under the green designation, but the amber list is substantial and includes Canada and 38 states in the US. (Due to the fact that not all states are designated as amber, the US appears neither red nor amber on the map below. Instead it is blue.)

According to Visit Malta, travelers from the amber list will need to submit the negative results of a COVID-19 PCR test before boarding their flights to Malta. The test must be administered a maximum of 72 hours before boarding.

Travelers from the following 38 US states are now allowed to travel to Malta:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Other European countries are now open to US travelers, on certain conditions, including Spain, Portugal, and France.

A version of this article was previously published on August 28, 2020, and was updated on June 17, 2021, with more information.

Discover Matador